Ways to Treat Migraines without a Perscription

As I’ve been writing my last few posts I’ve been thinking about the past a lot. I’ve also been working on ways my experiences can benefits others. I think learning from your own mistakes is an important part of your development, but isn’t it nice every once in a while to learn from someone else’s? With that in mind I have decided to compile this list of migraine treatments. Many of these are holistic or over the counter. You are also more than welcome to add any treatments you have found useful. I hope to periodically add to and improve this list. This initial version is based on my experiences to date, but I hope to add to it based on more research and your comments.

  • A cold cloth. Nothing beats a cold compress. If you can keep it cold while applying pressure to the area your migraine will disappear in a matter of hours. The problem of course is keeping the cloth cold. I found a bucket of cold water beside your bed to be the best way to do this as frequent trips to the tap often defeat the purpose. You might also try an ice pack or a bag of frozen peas. Because my migraines tend to be at my temples and behind my eyes I find that cloth is the only thing I can mould to the area.
  • I know most people think of meditation as sitting crossed legged and saying ohm, but really all meditation is, is a way to be mindful of your body. I’ve always felt migraines were the body going haywire, kind of like your brain misfiring. Focusing on your breathing whether or not you use a chant can help. I have a couple of chants I use. 1: I am a circle within a circle, always changing and never ending. 2: Pain out, Peace in. I find these work best when sitting or lying quietly but you don’t need a special position to meditate.
  • For the type of migraines I get you can often relieve some of the pressure by massaging or pressing on your pressure points at the back of the neck.
  • This only works for sinus caused migraines. You fill a bowl full of boiling water and then lean over it. To create an enclosed area place a towel over your head and the bowl. For added effectiveness add a bit of mint to the water. This steam bath usually clears up sinus headaches fairly quickly.
  • Mint and Camomile both have healing properties. These teas won’t cure a full blown migraine but if you are someone who knows when a migraine is coming a cup of mint or camomile tea will often stop it from forming or mitigate it. Mint also helps take the edge off of less serious migraines.
  • Looking up. Tension headaches can often be relieved by looking up. This action realigns the muscles and allows them to relax. It sounds silly but it works.
  • Over the counter medication. Sometimes there is no avoiding painkillers. Without a prescription there are a number of effective headache mediations on the market today. Ibuprofen (Advil) is still the best one out there though depending on the type of headache you get you may want to try Excedrin, Aleve or Tylenol. This is going to sound terrible and if you decide to keep reading read to whole thing. I want you to experiment. That said do not under any circumstances mix medications or take more than the recommended dosage. If you’re trying to find which of these helps the most next time you get a migraine take two Advil and go lie down. If three hours later that didn’t help try the next medication. Also if you are taking prescription medication check with your pharmacist first, but most prescription migraine medication can be taken with over the counter medication.
Leave a Reply

